The mission of the Fort William Henry Harrison Museum Foundation is to provide for the preservation, display and interpretation of military history and artifacts that have a geographical, cultural or historical tie to the history of the people and state of Montana. In as much as an appreciation and understanding of history and heritage is the foundation of continued progress for any culture, the Fort William Henry Harrison Museum Foundation will concern itself with programs and policies to educate and enlighten the public on the military history and traditions of Montana and its citizens. Activities include fund raising, endowment activities, education and training.

Fort William Henry Harrison Museum Foundation is recognized as a 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and further described as a museum activity for public education in accordance with 509(a)(1) and 170(b)(10)(A)(vi) as a supporting organization for the benefit of the Montana Military Museum. It is a non-profit public charity as defined by the IRS and is eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions. Its EIN is 81-0498957.

Fort William Henry Harrison Museum Foundation is recognized as a Domestic Nonprofit Corporation under Montana State Code Annotated as a Public Benefit Corporation with members.

The Montana Military Museum (Montana National Guard Museum Activity) is the state’s official military museum organization.  The museum was formed at Fort William Henry Harrison near Helena, Montana, November 1984.

In 1994, the supporters of the museum formed a non-profit foundation – Fort William Henry Harrison Museum Foundation. It is dedicated to the planning, collection and preservation of the strong military heritage that served the treasure state for the past nearly 200 years. From the Lewis and Clark Military Expedition to the present, military personnel continue to be called up for extended duty. Their history will also need to be preserved.

The foundation is governed by a nine member board of directors with four officers – president, vice president, treasurer and secretary. One-third of the board members are elected by the general membership at the annual meeting for a three-year staggered term. The officers are elected at the annual meeting and serve a one-year term, with no limit on terms. Current officers are James W. Duffy, president; Stan Putnam, vice president; Ray Read, secretary and Jim Hogan, treasurer. Directors are Linda Kindrick, Don Pratt, Dave Armstrong, Jim Brown, Dave Cole, Pam Jackson, Mike May, Loren Davis and Wayne Waters. The museum is recognized by the U.S. Center of Military History, the National Guard Bureau Public Office of History, the Montana Department of Military Affairs, the Montana Army and Air National Guard, the Montana National Guard Association (MTNG Association), the Montana Enlisted Association of the National Guard of Montana, the Association of State and Local History (AASLH), the Museum Association of Montana (MAM), the U.S. Army Center of Military History, Washington DC, the Montana Historical Society and the Lewis & Clark County Historical Society.